top of page

David

am writing this entry to acknowledge and send well wishes to a fellow I met on the bus ride out of Kathmandu - a person I only know by first name - David.

Friday morning I found myself seated next to an Irish bloke on what would eventually become a nine-hour bus ride with the latest Bollywood hits blaring all the way. During slower and quieter songs, I came to learn that David would be heading to Aleppo, Syria in a couple weeks. He is planning to work with a French-based international aid organization for several months, and hopes to help local residents prepare immigration and asylum applications for various EU countries.

David has never been to Syria before, but spent six months in the West Bank and lived in a refugee camp on the border with Jordan and Iraq three years ago. In two weeks time, he will fly to Lebanon where he will meet local contacts who will help him cross the border into Syria.

I wish David well on his upcoming journey, and especially wish nothing but the best for all those in Aleppo who struggle to get by and who strive to live in a more peaceful and prosperous world.

May your journey onward be a peaceful one

bottom of page