top of page

Holi and Gratitude


Last weekend was Holi. - the Hindu spring festival that celebrates the triumph of good over evil. It is a day when streets are closed for live music performances, and when people throw brightly colored dye and water. By early Sunday morning all the kids in the area were running around with dye and squirt guns and I had just bought a white, "Happy Holi" t-shirt from a local sidewalk vendor to wear for the day's technicolor festivities.

By Sunday evening I found myself in a more pensive mood with a sewn-up right hand and a debt of gratitude toward all those who helped me get prompt medical attention after slicing it open after tripping over a hole in the pavement. I am especially thankful to Prabhu, the pharmacist, who immediately responded with iodine and clotting agents, to Dr. Dinesh who stitched my hand back together, and especially to the team of local workers who stopped what they were doing to get help right away.

Things are slowly getting better now after a few days, and in two week's time, I go back to get the stitches out. I feel very fortunate for the care I received at the local hospital's ER, or "Casualty Department", as it was translated on the invoice.

Given that I am without the use of my right hand for the next two weeks, and given everything else I am supposed to be writing working on these days, I shall limit my blog updates until after I regain the use of both hands.

Everything is getting better, and rest assured, this too shall also pass.

Stay tuned...

bottom of page